JoAnn in Real Life

Jackson Star News Updates and Other Nonsense

JSN Update – 6/22/09

Posted by JoAnn on June 22, 2009

Ricky Good

Ricky Good

* It appears one Mr. Ricky Good, class of … well, should’ve been ’95 but he was in my class for awhile and to be honest, I’m not sure what year he graduated, but anyway … he has gotten into a little trouble with the law. Ricky, along with an unidentified accomplice, allegedly beat and robbed a man at the Super 8 Motel in Ripley, stealing more than $500 in cash, the victim’s checkbook and prescription medications.  The man was treated for lacerations and contusions at Jackson General Hospital. Ricky didn’t end up quite as well. He was arrested and currently is being housed at South Central Regional Jail. In October 2008, Ricky was arrested for petit larceny and obstructing an officer. Note to self … criminal behavior is never a good idea. Neither are repeat offenses. I’d also advise against unnaturally blonde tips. But I digress.

* A special shout out to Jackson Newspapers and ace reporter Jared Hunt, class of of ’00, for making the effort to write “under way” correctly on the front page last week. This is the point in which I reveal my complete geekiness. For years, Jackson Newspapers has been writing under way as one word, which is incorrect except for rare exceptions. Yes, I like correct grammar and I’m not ashamed to admit it. Anyway, kudos and tip of my hat to those who made this feat possible.

A colorful golfing quartet and law enforcement goodness

A colorful golfing quartet. Baltic is on the left.

* Jason Baltic, class of ’97, and three other fellas participated in the annual DARE golf tournament at Green Hills Country Club. The quartet was hard to miss in their loud and matching golf attire. Baltic is a deputy state fire marshal as well as the chief of the Sandyville Volunteer Fire Department. His golfing buddies are all law enforcement officers with the Jackson County Sheriff’s Department.

* In belated congratulatory news, a special and heartfelt congratulations goes out to Cynde Boston, Hurricane High grad but forever a member of the RHS class of ’97, and her beau Jonathan Hardman, who welcomed a beautiful baby girl into this world a little more than a month ago. Kaiya Leigh was born prematurely, but has been quite the little fighter and gets more beautiful every day. Congrats to the growing family. May we all pray that the little tike gets to go home soon.

* Congratulations also go out to Olivia Hudson, class of ’97, on her recent marriage to Michael Balas, an entrepreneur in Richmond, Va. From the looks of Olivia’s picture, the wedding was absolutely beautiful, just like the couple.

Stay thirsty, my friends.

4 Responses to “JSN Update – 6/22/09”

  1. Cynde said

    Thanks for the note about Kaiya. I have to admit that I feel quite privileged to have made it in the JSN Update!

  2. Ricky Good said

    JoAnn:

    I wasn’t going to beat you up until you made fun of my hair. I’m very sensitive about my frosted tips. Please meet me at the Super 8 Motel in Ripley. Do you have any prescribed medications? If so, please bring them. Even birth control pills. I’ll ingest anything. Did I just use the word “ingest”? Clearly I’m too dumb to use that word.

    Love,

    Ricky

  3. JoAnn said

    Ricky, Ricky, Ricky … When did they let you out of South Central? And how did you get to Pittsburgh so fast??? I smell a rat!

  4. I think this post is absolutely horrible about a former teacher in the Jackson County School system……Martino Marries

    In happier news, Erika Martino, daughter of the late James Martino (everyone’s favorite little West Virginia history teacher), married Joseph Young in November. Congrats!

    Describing Mr. James Martino as everyone’s favorite little West Virginia history teacher is deplorable………

Leave a Reply

 
